Winter School on Chemical Reaction Dynamics at Surfaces

Winter School on Chemical Reaction Dynamics at Surfaces

Co-Organizers: Rainer D. Beck, Alec M. Wodtke, Dan Harding Schloss Ringberg, Tegernsee Germany, March 10-15 2013 Sponsored by the Max Planck- EPFL Center for Molecular Nanoscience and Technology

The Winter School on Chemical Reaction Dynamics at Surfaces is designed as a Gordon conference style meeting that brings together researchers active in the field of surface dynamics and students in, or interested in entering, the field of Chemical Dynamics. Experts in the field will provide an in depth introduction to the theoretical and experimental methods used in the study of chemical dynamics at surfaces. Subjects covered will include molecular scattering and reactions, spectroscopy at interfaces, energy transfer, electronic structure theory, and classical and quantum dynamics. There will be a mixture of pedagogic lectures and scientific talks presenting the latest developments in the field. Participants will have the opportunity to present their work either as an oral or poster presentation.

The winter school is supported by the Max Planck-EPFL Center for Molecular Science and Nanotechnology. It will take place from the 10th-15th March 2013 at the Schloss Ringberg of the Max Plank Society. Schloss Ringberg lies on the banks of Tegernsee about 50 km south of Munich. Travel directions can be found here.

The Winter School will start with registration on Sunday afternoon, with the first talk at 5pm, and the program finishes at midday on Friday.

Confirmed speakers include:

Bret Jackson U Mass Amherst
Jörg Meyer TU Munich
Rainer D. Beck EPF Lausanne
Alec M. Wodtke MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen
Daniel J. Auerbach

MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen

Martin Wolf Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin
Ulrich Höfer U Marburg
Peter Saalfrank U Potsdam
Mischa Bonn MPI for Polymer Research, Mainz
Arthur L. Utz Tufts
Xueming Yang Dalian
Herman Nienhaus U Duisburg-Essen
Greg Sitz University of Texas, Austin, USA
Tim Schäfer University Göttingen/MPI Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
Christina Diaz Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Liv Horneckær Aarhus University , Denmark
Swetlana Schauermann Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
Regis Bisson Aix-Marseille University, France
Matts Persson University of Liverpool, England
Ludo Juurlink Leiden University, Netherlands

Further reading to the topics of the Winterschool (lecture by A.Wodtke)

Go to Editor View